Members of the service hold positions of leadership in national and international scientific societies, for example, Alberto Ortiz is a member of the board of directors of the Spanish Nephrology Society and has been a Council Member of the European Renal Association (ERA-EDTA). He is also a member of European Renal Best Practice (RBP), which is the ERA-EDTA’s Clinical Guidelines body, was Chairman of the European Nephrology Conference 2019, is Editor-in-Chief of the Clinical Kidney journal, and is on the editorial board of the journal of the American Society of Nephrology. Emilio González Parra is a member of the board of directors of the Madrid Nephrology Society. Beatriz Fernández leads the Spanish Nephrology Society's group of young nephrologists (JOVSEN).

Our recognitions for care work include the Best in Class award for the best nephrology service in patient care.

The Expertscape website recognises several members of the Nephrology Service among the top 3 national experts in renal diseases, diabetic nephropathy, chronic renal failure, acute renal failure, polycystic kidney disease and Fabry disease.