Mechanisms of tissue damage and repair in joint diseases, especially osteoarthritis, osteoporosis and rheumatoid arthritis.


The service has four resident physicians specialising in Rheumatology. The following sessions are held on a weekly basis:

  • General service session
  • Autoimmunity session
  • Laboratory session
  • Resident specialisation session

Dr Herrero-Beaumont is Full Professor of Rheumatology, Dr Romero Bueno is Associate Professor, and Dr Sánchez Pernaute is Honorary Professor of Rheumatology. The three of them teach Rheumatology at UAM’s School of Medicine

Dr Largo is Honorary Professor at FJD-UAM's University School of Nursing. He teaches Human Physiology as part of the Nursing Degree.